Maine Fly Fish
Whitewolf

New to ME. How about a 8' pond hopper on the ponds?

I am new to Maine but see a lot of words icw ponds. I don't know any of the ponds there. Will be there in May.

I think the fastest and easiest way onto the still water is from a boat and trailer. As opposed to a float tube, chest waders, belt, booties to protect the stocking foot waders, fins, tethers, air in the tube, gear....etc. A boat, float it off the trailer, go park and go fish.

I am wondering about an 8' pond hopper foam filled little boat. It used to fit inside my truck with an 8' bed and shell camper. Could close the camper shell door and go somewhere. Beauty of that is in the higher elevations of the White Mtns here in AZ one would get a shower almost every afternoon. And traveling on dirt roads....well, if you didn't have your boat covered you got a ton of dust and dirt into the boat and then it rains.....ugly. But inside the camper shell all was great.

Anywhooooo........I am in AZ and wondering if I should figure out how to get my little pond hopper to Maine when I drive there end of April. I have an electric trolling motor on the front and a little 1.5 hp outboard on the back. Obviously almost need a boat ramp to launche it. Don't have a trailer for it yet. Well, yes I do. Bought a 10' utility trailer last year in ME. Sorry to ramble.

Would said little boat be usable on very many of the still waters in ME?

tks n advance for any help

Jim

Pond access varies greatly in Maine, every thing from concrete boat launches to multi mile hikes.

If you enjoyed it where you are, you will find perfect spots for it here, but you will also find a number of places that its just not feasible.

If you can man handle it 15 or 20 feet you should be able to access a fair amount of ponds.

My self, I think a canoe is a more versatile choice in Maine.

Thanks Wildkarde

I am not sure how to get the little thing to ME. Wife doesn't want to pull anything......