Maine Fly Fish
Sign in to follow this  
northernfly

Atlantic salmon vs Steelhead

I never had the opportunity to fish for steelhead but I would like to do a fishing trip to British Columbia someday. When I was a student I spent 2 whole summers in BC without wetting a line...I guess I was too busy picking cherries and partying back then...what a major mistake! So I have a couples of questions about steelhead.

Steelhead and Atlantic salmon are considered by many to be the toughest fish to catch. I experienced it with the Atlantics but I would like to know wich one do you guys think is the toughest to catch?

For those of you that have caught both species wich one would you say pull up the best fight pound for pound? Atlantics tend to jump out of the water when hooked just like the LLS do. What about the steelhead do they jump?

After reading RAW's recent post (steelhead success 101,102 and 103) and some fishing reports from Pulaski I have a question about the differences between wild steelhead fishing on the west coast and fishing in the great lake tribs. In the stories about wild steelhead fishing on the west coast it looks like normal to go a couples days without catching any fish while people in Pulaski seems to catch one fish after another... How's that since it's the same specie of fish? Also do the steelhead from the great lake fight as hard as the wild steelhead from the west coast?

I am sure that this will spawn some varying commentary about fishing for native fish versus introduced fish, and there is a good amount of snobbery amognst Steelheaders.  I've not caught a west coast steelhead, nor an atlantic, so my input is moot.  But... i can say that fishing on the great lakes is great fun, because it is essentially trout fishing for massive trout.  But I wouldn't settle for that as my sole Steelhead bucket list.  I would very much like to catch a wild, ocean dwelling one, just the same as i would for an atlantic.